Read an extract of "The Last Migration" by Charlotte McConaghy header image

"The Last Migration" by Charlotte McConaghy

‘Transporting’ (New York Times) · ‘Hopeful’ (Washington Post) · ‘Powerful’ (Los Angeles Times)

For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds – and her own final chance for redemption. A dark past. An impossible journey. The will to survive.

How far you would you go for love? Franny Stone is determined to go to the end of the earth, following the last of the Arctic terns on what may be their final migration to Antarctica.

As animal populations plummet and commercial fishing faces prohibition, Franny talks her way onto one of the few remaining boats heading south. But as she and the eccentric crew travel further from shore and safety, the dark secrets of Franny’s life begin to unspool. A daughter’s yearning search for her mother. An impulsive, passionate marriage. A shocking crime. Haunted by love and violence, Franny must confront what she is really running towards – and from.

The Last Migration is a wild, gripping and deeply moving novel from a brilliant young writer. From the west coast of Ireland to Australia and remote Greenland, through crashing Atlantic swells to the bottom of the world, this is an ode to the wild places and creatures now threatened, and an epic story of the possibility of hope against all odds.

Read an extract

BUY IT NOW FROM BOOKTOPIA

About the book

BUY IT NOW FROM BOOKTOPIA

  • Published: 4 August 2020
  • ISBN: 9781760893316
  • Imprint: Hamish Hamilton
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 272

More Inspiration

FREE tickets to the Underwater Tour LIVE ONLINE, 23 May

May 19, 2021

Join esteemed guests Dr Richard Smith, Aaron Wong and Janet Lanyon for a night about the ocean

How is the Water

May 19, 2021

The ultimate ocean experience

Totally Turtle on Heron Island

May 3, 2021

Simon Mustoe describes his top snorkelling destination in the world!

Podcast: How Aboriginal people made the most successful ecosystems

Mar 12, 2021

The success of our species and the history of what we commonly consider “civilisation” isn’t what we think it is.

Reconnecting Cassowary Habitat

Dec 23, 2020

How business, community and conservation are saving a national treasure

Read an extract of "Life After Truth" by Ceridwen Dovey

Dec 10, 2020

At their fifteen-year reunion, a group of Harvard graduates – labouring with early middle age, marriage and children, unrealised aspirations and a depressing political climate – rekindle old loves and old resentments.

WOMADelaide March Fri 5 March to Mon 8 March 2021

Dec 9, 2020

Four sunset concert evening performances with Midnight Oil, Tash Sultana, The Teskey Brothers, Sarah Blasko and Archie Roach

How did Blue Whales contribute to the 2019 Australian Bushfires?

Dec 14, 2020

Animals regulate Earth's heat engine but there are side-effects of allowing them to approach extinction

How the goose-beaked whale swan dives to record depths

Dec 2, 2020

New research on this strangest of animals