Read an extract of "The Last Migration" by Charlotte McConaghy header image

Read an extract of "The Last Migration" by Charlotte McConaghy

‘Transporting’ (New York Times) · ‘Hopeful’ (Washington Post) · ‘Powerful’ (Los Angeles Times)

For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds – and her own final chance for redemption. A dark past. An impossible journey. The will to survive.

How far you would you go for love? Franny Stone is determined to go to the end of the earth, following the last of the Arctic terns on what may be their final migration to Antarctica.

As animal populations plummet and commercial fishing faces prohibition, Franny talks her way onto one of the few remaining boats heading south. But as she and the eccentric crew travel further from shore and safety, the dark secrets of Franny’s life begin to unspool. A daughter’s yearning search for her mother. An impulsive, passionate marriage. A shocking crime. Haunted by love and violence, Franny must confront what she is really running towards – and from.

The Last Migration is a wild, gripping and deeply moving novel from a brilliant young writer. From the west coast of Ireland to Australia and remote Greenland, through crashing Atlantic swells to the bottom of the world, this is an ode to the wild places and creatures now threatened, and an epic story of the possibility of hope against all odds.

Read an extract

BUY IT NOW FROM BOOKTOPIA

About the book

BUY IT NOW FROM BOOKTOPIA

  • Published: 4 August 2020
  • ISBN: 9781760893316
  • Imprint: Hamish Hamilton
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 272

More Inspiration

How the goose-beaked whale swan dives to record depths

Dec 2, 2020

New research on this strangest of animals

Package holidays cheaper than DIY bookings

Nov 27, 2020

Which? Travel disproves the common assumption that holidays booked yourself cost less than through an agent

Top 10 things to do in the Kimberley

Nov 27, 2020

This remote wilderness offers some of the rarest experiences in the world

Kimberley Toad Busting

Nov 23, 2020

Defeating Argyle's Amphibious Archenemy

Greg Grainger on the Eyre Peninsula

Nov 24, 2020

The Eyre Peninsula is a short flight from Adelaide. Meet Hassie and the crew who will take you to discover its charms.

FAQs about Travel to Tasmania

Nov 23, 2020

Top questions about travel to Tasmania

The Dry

Nov 24, 2020

starring Eric Bana

Wildiaries National Landscapes Nature Series

Nov 6, 2020

150 days, 16 destinations, Australia's most beautiful people, places and wildlife

History Buffs

Oct 31, 2020

We have the Eyre Peninsula museums for you!